The Sydney SuperNight event is the first night race on the Supercars calendar since 1997. The 300km format is the longest single driver event of the year, and the win is worth a whopping 300 points, making it a possible game changer with the endurance season just around the corner.


The elimination style qualifying format as seen at Symmons Plains and Perth earlier this year is back on the agenda for this event. This has been a hit with drivers and fans alike. The breakdown on how these sessions work can be found further below!


All sessions will be LIVE on FOX Sports across the weekend with a highlights package on Channel Ten/One HD. Check your local guides for times.



Friday 3rd August

18:00 – 18:40 – Practice One

Saturday 4th August

13:20 – 13:50 – Practice Two

16:20 – 16:30 – Qualifying Part One

16:35 – 16:45 – Qualifying Part Two

16:50 – 17:00 – Qualifying Part Three

19:20 – 21:40 – Race 21 – 300kms / 77 Laps



Qualifying 1 – The drivers that finished 11th to 26th in the applicable practice standings hit the track for 10 minutes. From that group of 16, the fastest six progress to Qualifying 2, while the others will positions 17th to 26th.

Qualifying 2 – The top 10 drivers from practice join the action, with the fastest six from Qualifying 1. From the times set in this ten-minute segment, the top 10 progress to Qualifying 3, while the others will positions 11th to 16th.

Qualifying 3 – The top 10 drivers from Qualifying 2 fight it out for Pole Position, setting the first five rows of the grid in the process.


This format provides a new challenge to the teams, and with the top ten from practice automatically going through to the second session, drivers are more eager than ever to put a good time on the board!



- Track Length – 3.91km // Direction – Anti-Clockwise // Fastest Speed – 256km/h // Average Speed – 154km/h

- Qualifying Lap Record – 1m28.2259s, Scott McLaughlin, DJR Team Penske, 2017, Ford Falcon FGX

- Race Lap Record – 1m30.1577s, Chaz Mostert, Prodrive Racing, 2017, Ford Falcon FGX

- Tim will celebrate his 33rd birthday on the Friday of the SMP event

- The short circuit at SMP has only been used once for an ATCC/VASC round in 1996. It was also the opening round of the championship and won overall by Craig Lowndes on his championship debut

- Just 4 of the last 20 SMP championship races have been won by the car starting on pole position

- Only 8 of the 52 races held at SMP have had every car that started the race classified as a finisher



Saturday 4th August

11:30 – 12:00 @ Freightliner Racing Stand, Merchandise Alley

Published: 31 July 2018.

#14 Tim Slade

Freightliner Racing

© Copyright 2019 Brad Jones Racing